Leaving Footprints

….while we may be crossing the river our footprints will always remain on the other side….

I heard this the other night and it brought a flood of all the life decisions I made – good and bad (well not  all of them).   This time of year always puts me in a frame of mind where I reflect on those choices and decisions that has made the life that I live.   My wife, children, friends, where I live and where I work all result from the millions of choices I made everyday till this moment.   I don’t believe in luck but I do believe in choice for every moment.

A few weeks ago I travelled to Montreal to visit my uncle who I have admired and respected my whole life.   He was dying but his life was very much alive.   It was probably one of the most difficult and beautiful moments of my life when I hugged him and told him that I loved him.   His life, honesty, love and most importantly, his choices have left footprints on the other side of the river, footsteps that I follow.  

Knowing that my journey (and those of others) is a shared journey,  leaving footsteps for some to follow and some to witness is a comfort.   I am thankful for the people in my life that have let me witness their footprints.

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Leaving Footprints

  1. […] that my life is not my own but rather shared (or followed – i.e.Footprints), how do you live knowing what you say, what you do and how you do it may be impacting others […]

Leave a Reply

